On Air

Andy Green 2:00PM - 6:00PM

Now Playing

Luther Vandross Never Too Much
You are viewing content from The Breeze South Devon.
Would you like to make this your preferred location?

How did your MP vote on the Brexit deal in the South West?

Theresa May's Brexit withdrawal plan has been defeated by a record margin of 230 votes in the House of Commons.

Around 1 in 3 of her own Conservative MPs voted against it.

Labour has now launched a no-confidence vote in the government which will take place later today. 

French President Emmanuel Macron says Britain would be the 'biggest loser' if it leaves the European Union without a deal.

But how did MPs from across the political spectrum vote in the South West?



Bristol North West - Darren Jones (Labour) - AGAINST

Bristol South - Karin Smyth (Labour) - AGAINST

Bristol West - Thangam Debbonaire (Labour) - AGAINST

Bristol East - Kerry McCarthy (Labour) - AGAINST

Filton and Bradley Stoke - Jack Lopresti (Conservative) - FOR

Kingswood - Chris Skidmore (Conservative) - FOR

Weston-super-Mare - John Penrose (Conservative) - FOR

North Somerset - Dr Liam Fox (Conservative) - FOR

Thornbury and Yate - Luke Hall (Conservative) - FOR



Bath - Wera Hobhouse (Lib Dem) - AGAINST

North East Somerset - Jacob Rees-Mogg (Conservative) - AGAINST

Somerton and Frome - David Warburton (Conservative) - FOR

Devizes - Claire Perry (Conservative) - FOR

Chippenham - Michelle Donelan (Conservative) - FOR



Cheltenham - Alex Chalk (Conservative - FOR

Gloucester - Richard Graham (Conservative) - FOR

Tewkesbury - Laurence Robertson (Conservative) - AGAINST



Torbay MP Kevin Foster received nearly 1,000 letters and emails about the draft Withdrawal Agreement ahead of last night's vote.

He said: "These ranged from residents going into detail about their views in personal letters to emails via campaign websites which allow residents to select an option, then send me an email.

"The views expressed include the full spectrum of options from Revoking Article 50 to leaving without a withdrawal agreement and trading on World Trade Organisation Terms. In short it is impossible for me to agree with every view expressed."

Click play to hear Kevin Foster speaking after last night's vote

The MP for Newton Abbot Anne-Marie Morris last night voted against the deal believing it didn't go far enough

The MP for Totnes also voted against the deal, with doctor Sarah Wollaston calling for a second referendum instead.



Bridgwater and West Somerset - Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) - AGAINST
Taunton Deane - Rebecca Pow (Con) - FOR 
Wells - James Heappey (Con) - FOR 
Yeovil - Marcus Fysh (Con) - AGAINST 
Somerton and Frome - David Warburton (Con) - FOR 

The MP for Wells James Heappey admits the situation is a mess, but says tonight he will vote to support the PM and her plan to start cross-party talks to salvage a workable Brexit deal.

He said: "She has the ability to seeks a consensus and I think if the Commons are sensible they will recognise that the British public are pretty desperate for us to make some progress.

"They are not looking on, cheering us on saying 'go on, isn't it brilliant that Parliament is trying itself in knots and we're in a state of complete paralysis'."

Click play to hear Wells MP James Heappey 

Yeovil MP Marcus Fysh, who voted against the Prime Minister last night,. said: "It was obviously a very resounding defeat for the  withdrawal agreement but that gives a perfect opportunity now.

"A mandate for the Prime Minister to go back to the EU and say look this really cannot pass Parliament.

"We have set out an alternative plan to go back to what they offered in March last year which was a free trade agreement for the whole of the UK."

Click play to hear Yeovil MP Marcus Fysh



North Dorset - Simon Hoare (Con) - FOR 
West Dorset - Oliver Letwin (Con) - FOR



Swindon North - Justin Tomlinson (Conservative) - FOR

Swindon South - Robert Buckland QC (Conservative) - FOR

More from Local News