On Air

The Wind Down 7:00PM - 10:00PM

Now Playing

Stereophonics Handbags And Gladrags
You are viewing content from The Breeze Andover.
Would you like to make this your preferred location?

How did your MP vote on the Brexit deal in the Thames Valley?

Theresa May

We've been taking a look at how MPs from across the Thames Valley voted on the Prime Minister's Brexit deal last night.

MPs rejected Theresa May's agreement with the EU by an overwhelming majority of 230.

It's been seen as a huge defeat for the Prime Minister, who's Maidenhead's MP - and now her government faces a vote of no confidence this evening.

But looking locally, here's how some of our politicians voted.

Reading West's Alok Sharma was amongst those who backed Mrs May's deal.

So did Newbury MP, Richard Benyon - he's told us the defeat is disappointing but he reckons the Government will win tonight's no confidence vote.

He feels the right Brexit agreement must be made urgently:

Reading East MP Matt Rodda and Conservative Bracknell MP Dr Phillip Lee were amongst those who voted against the Prime Minister's bill last night.

Dr Phillip Lee tweeted his reaction after the result was announced:

Basingstoke MP Maria Miller and her colleague from North West Hampshire Kit Malthouse both voted in favour of the deal.

However, Ranil Jayawardena wasn't in favour of the agreement. The North East Hampshire MP said he couldn't support the deal as he felt it lacked the assurances necessary to secure a good Brexit for Britain.

He made a statement in the House of Commons earlier on in the day, outlining some of the reasons why he was against the bill.

More from Local News